Dimensions: 38cm x 48cm
Plate size: 25cm x 30cm
Etching over heat transfer on Zerkall
Edition of 10

Strumpet City: Graphic Studio Gallery 11th July – 24th August 2013

In association with James Plunkett’s novel ‘Strumpet City’ being the UNESCO City of Literature 2013 Dublin: One City, One Book, Graphic Studio Gallery will be hosting an exhibition of 46 artists in connection with this epic book. The exhibition, also entitled ‘Strumpet City’, will run from the 11th of July to the 24th of August, and will feature a collection of contemporary fine art prints of various aspects of Dublin city and its history.

This year’s choice of ‘Strumpet City’ as Dublin’s One City One Book is especially appropriate as 2013 is the centenary of the Dublin Lockout around which much of the novel is centered. 2013 is also the year that Graphic Studio Gallery celebrates its 25th anniversary. To commemorate this, Graphic Studio Dublin members and gallery artists have created fine art prints that deal with many of the themes explored in Plunkett’s novel: poverty, a generation’s survival and pre-independence Dublin itself. This is a fundraiser for the studio, and the money raised in the exhibition will go towards providing more printmaking facilities for artists and graduates.

Using traditional printmaking techniques to explore Plunkett’s novel is highly apt as print would have been the method employed to communicate in the Dublin of Larkin’s time. Graphic Studio Gallery’s fine art print exhibition will offer a unique opportunity to interact with the novel in the form of visual art.

Artists: Yoko Akino, Anne Anderson, Paul Bailey, Margaret Becker, Carmel Benson, Gerard Cox, Aisling Dolan, Susan Early, Camilla Fanning, Paula Fitzpatrick, Niamh Flanagan, Gerard Greene, Mary Grey, Alice Hanratty, Marianne Heemskeek, Gavin Hogg, Siobhan Hyde, Brian Lalor, Jennifer Lane, Sharon Lee, Louise Leonard, Daniel Lipstein, Tom Macken, Brett Mac Entagart, Niamh Mac Gowan, James McCreary, Niamh McGuinne, Bernadette Madden, Susan Mannion, Fieda Meaney, Liam Ó Broin, Suzannah O’Reilly, Ruth O’Donnell, Ciara O’Hara, Gay O’Neill, Mary Plunkett, Sarah Rogers, Dermot Ryan, Joe Ryan, Deirdre Shanley, Constance Short, Adrienne Symes, Michael Timmins, Elke Thönnes, Marja Van Kampen & Marta Wakula-Mac